The Tibesar Prize

The Conference on Latin American History in cooperation with The Americas established the Tibesar Prize in  December 1990. It carries a stipend of $500.

A Tibesar Prize Committee, annually named by the president of the Conference on Latin American History, will designate the most distinguished article published by The Americas for the volume year, which ends in the year before the award is announced.

Hence, for the 2023 Tibesar Prize to be awarded in January of 2024, the Tibesar Prize Committee will review and judge articles in the 2022 volume year. The Secretariat will be informed of the committee’s decision no later than October 15, 2023.

The Tibesar Prize Committee is charged with selecting that article which best combines distinguished scholarship, original research and/or thought, and grace of writing style.

Note: The CLAH now requires current membership for all of its prizes.

Tibesar Prize Committee for 2023:

Erik Ching (Chair)
Furman University
History Department
3300 Poinsett Highway
Greenville, SC 29613

Anadelia Romo
Texas State University
311 Tophill Rd.
San Antonio, TX 78209

< Prev Next >