The Vanderwood Prize


$500 is awarded annually for the best English-language article on Latin American history published in a journal other than the Hispanic American Historical Review.

This prize was established in 1961 and renamed the Vanderwood Prize, in recognition of Paul Vanderwood, in 2012. It carries a stipend of $500.

The Vanderwood Prize is awarded annually for a distinguished article on any significant aspect of Latin American history by a member of the CLAH, not appearing in the Hispanic American Historical Review or The Americas. The committee will consider nominated and self-nominated articles in English, Spanish, Portuguese and French. To be eligible for the prize, authors must be members of the CLAH during the year the article is published and the year that it is considered for the award.

The committee will review only those articles published in the year preceding the award. Thus articles published in 2017 will be considered for the 2018 award to be presented at the conference in January 2019. For an article to be considered, each of the three committee members must receive a copy by email by June 1, 2018. The Secretariat should be informed of the committee’s decision no later than October 15, 2018.

Note: The CLAH now requires current membership for all of its prizes.

Vanderwood Prize Committee for 2018:

Chair: Laura Shelton
Franklin and Marshall College

Ryan Kashanipour
Northern Arizona University

Carlos Dimas
Albright College

Deadline to apply: June 1, 2018

< Prev Next >