The Lewis Hanke Post-Doctoral Award

The Lewis Hanke Award carries a stipend of up to $1,000, to be used only for international travel. This award was created through generous donations from students, colleagues, and family members of the late Lewis Hanke. It will be given annually to a recent Ph.D. recipient in order to conduct field research that will allow transformation of the dissertation into a book. Applicants must have completed their Ph.D. degrees in the field of Latin American history no more than four years prior to the closing date of the application. The award will be made by a committee appointed by the CLAH president and confirmed by the CLAH General Committee.

Applications will consist of the following documents: a 1,000-word proposal, a dissertation abstract, a brief CV, and a proposed budget. Applications must be emailed to postmarked by June 1 of the award year. The Secretariat should be informed of the committee’s decision no later than October 15, 2021.

All applicants for the Hanke Award must be CLAH members. Non-members can join the CLAH here

While applications and letters of support must be sent to the email address above, questions may be directed to any member of the selection committee.

Hanke Prize Committee for 2021:

Sylvia Sellers Garcia (Chair)
Boston College

Heidi Scott
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Javier Puente
Smith College

Deadline to apply: June 1, 2021

< Prev Next >