The James Alexander Robertson Prize

Established in 1953, this prize carries a $500 cash stipend. Originally, it was established to improve the quality of articles in the HAHR as, in addition to the cash award, the winning article was to be published in the HAHR. In 1957 its terms were changed to provide an award for an article already published. However, the provision that unpublished articles might also be considered was retained.

The James Alexander Robertson Prize is awarded annually for an article appearing (during the year preceding the award) in one of the four consecutive issues of the 2022 volume year for the 2023 award, awarded at the conference in January, 2024.  The article selected for the award is to be one that, in the judgment of the prize committee, makes an outstanding contribution to Latin American historical literature. An Honorable Mention Award (with no cash stipend) may be made for an additional distinguished article deemed worthy of the same by the Robertson Prize Committee.

Note: The CLAH now requires current membership for all of its prizes.

The Secretariat should be informed of the committee’s decision no later than October 15, 2023.

Robertson Prize Committee for 2023: 

Rachel Sarah O’Toole (Chair)
University of California, Irvine
Department of History
363 Murray Krieger Hall
Irvine, CA 92697

Keila Grinberg
University of Pittsburgh
Department of History
3702 Wesley W. Posvar Hall
Pittsburgh, PA 15260

Josh Savala
Rollins College
517 W. Buffalo Street Apt 2
Ithaca NY 14850

< Prev Next >