The Warren Dean Memorial Prize

The Warren Dean Memorial Prize was established in 1995 and carries a stipend of $500. It recognizes the book or article judged to be the most significant work on the history of Brazil published in English during the year prior to the award year. Publications by scholars other than historians will be considered as long as the work has substantial historical content. Comparative works (e. g. on Brazil and another country) will be eligible as long as they include a substantial amount of material on Brazil.

For a book or article to be considered, each of the three committee members must receive a copy by June 1, 2023, either from the publisher or from another source.

Items published in 2022 will be considered for the award year 2023 (to be awarded at the meeting in January 2024).

Note: The CLAH now requires current membership for all of its prizes.

Dean Prize Committee for 2023:

Heather Roller (Chair)
Colgate University
Department of History
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346

Colin Snider
University of Texas, Tyler
Dept. of History
3900 University Blvd.
Tyler, TX 75799

Rodrigo Camargo de Godoi
Departamento de História
Rua Cora Coralina 100
Cidade Universitária Zeferino Vaz
Barão Geraldo
CEP 13083-896

Deadline for receipt of nominations: June 1, 2023

< Prev Next >