The Warren Dean Memorial Prize

The Warren Dean Memorial Prize was established in 1995 and carries a stipend of $500. It recognizes the book or article judged to be the most significant work on the history of Brazil published in English during the year prior to the award year. Publications by scholars other than historians will be considered as long as the work has substantial historical content. Comparative works (e. g. on Brazil and another country) will be eligible as long as they include a substantial amount of material on Brazil. In exceptional cases, the award committee may decide on co-winners. The co-winners will split the prize. In such cases, there would not be an honorable mention.


Seth GarfieldGuaraná: How Brazil Embraced the World’s Most Caffeine-Rich Plant (University of North Carolina Press, 2022)

Honorable Mention:
B. J. Barickman and eds. Hendrik Kraay and Bryan McCannFrom Sea-Bathing to Beach-Going: A Social History of the Beach in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (University of New Mexico Press, 2022)

Frederico Freitas, Nationalizing Nature: Iguazu Falls and National Parks at the Brazil-Argentina Border (Cambridge University Press, 2021)

John D. French,
Lula and His Politics of Cunning: From Metalworker to President of Brazil (University of North Carolina Press, 2020)

Honorable Mention:
Jeffrey D. Needell, The Sacred Cause: The Abolitionist Movement, Afro-Brazilian Mobilization, and Imperial Politics in Rio de Janeiro (Stanford University Press, 2020)

Erika Helgen, Religious Conflict in Brazil: Protestants, Catholics and the Rise of Religious Pluralism in the Early Twentieth Century (Yale University Press, 2020)

Jessica Graham,
Shifting the Meaning of Democracy: Race, Politics, and Culture in the United States and Brazil (University of California Press, 2019)

Yuko Miki,
Frontiers of Citizenship: A Black and Indigenous History of Postcolonial Brazil (Cambridge University Press, 2018)

Honorable Mention:
Anne G. Hanley, The Public Good and the Brazilian State: Municipal Finance and Public Services In Sao Paulo, 1822–1930 (University of Chicago Press, 2018)

Patricia Acerbi, Street Occupations: Urban Vending in Rio de Janeiro, 1850-1925 (University of Texas Press, 2017)

Honorable Mention:
Antoine Acker, Volkswagen in the Amazon: The Tragedy of Global Development in Modern Brazil (University of Cambridge Press, 2017)

Eve Buckley, Technocrats and the Politics of Drought and Development in Twentieth-Century Brazil (University of Cambridge Press, 2017)

Celso Castilho, Slave Emancipation and Transformations in Brazilian Political Citizenship (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2016)

Honorable Mention:
Mary Karach, Before Brasília: Frontier Life in Central Brazil (University of New Mexico Press, 2016)

Barbara Weinstein, The Color of Modernity: São Paulo and the Making of Race and Nation in Brazil (Duke University Press, 2015)

Honorable Mention:
João Reis, The Story of Domingos Sodré, an African Priest in Nineteenth-Century Brazil (Cambridge University Press, 2015)

Roger Kittleson, The Country of Football: Soccer and the Making of Modern Brazil (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2014)

Hendrik Kraay, Days of National Festivity in Rio de Janeiro, 1823-1889 (Stanford University Press, 2013)

Paulina Alberto, Terms of Inclusion: Black Intellectuals in Twentieth-Century Brazil (University of North Carolina Press, 2011)

Thomas Rogers, The Deepest Wounds: A Labor and Environmental History of Sugar in Northeast Brazil (University of North Carolina University Press, 2010)

Honorable Mention:
Mark Harris, Rebellion on the Amazon: The Cabanagem, Race, and Popular Culture in the North of Brazil, 1798-1840 (Cambridge University Press, 2010)

Heather Flynn Roller, “Colonial Collecting Expeditions and the Pursuit of Opportunities in the Amazonian Sertão, c. 1750-1800,” The Americas 66, no. 4 (April 2010): 435-467.

Brodwyn Fisher, A Poverty of Rights: Citizenship and Inequality in Twentieth Century Rio de Janiero (Stanford University Press, 2008)

Jeffrey Needell, The Party of Order: The Conservatives, the State, and Slavery in the Brazilian Monarchy, 1831-1871 (Stanford University Press, 2006)

Honorable Mention:
Hal Langfur, Forbidden Lands: Colonial Identity, Frontier Violence, and the Persistence of Brazil’s Eastern Indians, 1750-1830 (Stanford University Press, 2006)

Todd Diacon, Stringing Together a Nation: Candido Mariano de Silva Rondon and the Construction of Modern Brazil, 1906-1930 (Duke University Press, 2004)

Honorable mention:
Linda Lewin, Surprise Heirs, vol. 2 (Stanford University Press, 2003)

Peter Beattie, The Tribute of Blood: Army, Honor, Race, and Nation in Brazil, 1864-1945 (Duke University Press, 2001)

Honorable Mention:
Hendrik Kraay, Race, State, and Armed Forces in Independence-Era Brazil: Bahia, 1790s-1840s (Stanford University Press, 2001)

Sergio Díaz-Briquets and Jorge Pérez-López, Conquering Nature: The Environmental Legacy of Socialism in Cuba (Pittsburgh University Press, 2000)

Roderick J. BarmanCitizen Emperor: Pedro II and the Making of Brazil, 1825-1891 (Stanford University Press, 1999)

Honorable Mention:
Judy Bieber, Power, Patronage, and Political Violence: State Building on a Brazilian Frontier, 1822-1889 (University of Nebraska Press, 1999)

None awarded

Stephen Bell, Campanha gaúcha: A Brazilian Ranching System, 1850-1920 (Stanford University Press, 1998)

Honorable Mention:
Thomas Cohen, The Fire of Tongues: António Vieira and the Missionary Church in Brazil and Portugal (Stanford University Press, 1998)

Dean Prize Committees (Chair listed first): 

2024 Sueann Caulfield, Marc Herztman, Keila Grinberg

2023 Heather Roll, Colin Snider, Rodrigo Camargo de Godoi

2022 Andy Kirkendall, Patricia Acerbi, Kirsten Schultz

2021 Gabriel Paquette (chair), Alexandre Fortes, Mary Hicks

2020 Mariana Dantas (chair), Gregory Childs, Brian Owensby

2019 Okezi Otovo, Celso Castilho, Eve Buckley

2018 Ben Cowan, Teresa Cribelli, Mieko Nishida

2016 Joel Wolfe, Ana Lúcia Araújo, Amy Chazkel

2016 Hendrik Kraay, Roger Kittleson, Paulina Alberto

2015 Kirsten Schultz, Gail Triner, Justin Wolfe

2013 Daryle Williams, Brodwyn Fischer, Bryan McCann

2011 Mary Karasch, Daryle Williams, John French

2009 Teresa Meade, Kristen Schultz, Jeffrey Needell

2007 Todd Diacon, Julyana Peard, Joan Bak

2005 Marshall Eakin, Sueann Caulfield, William Summerhill

2003 Joseph Love, Mary Karasch, Jeffrey Lesser

2002 Thomas Skidmore, David Robinson, David Sweet

2001 Dauril Alden, Stephen Bell, B.J. Barickman

2000 Elinor Melville, Stephen Bell, Dain Borges

1999 Jeffrey Lesser, Dauril Alden, Elinor Melville


< Prev Next >