Susan M. Socolow and Lyman L. Johnson Prize

The Susan M. Socolow and Lyman L. Johnson Chile-Río de la Plata book prize was established in 2018. It carries a stipend of $500. The prize is awarded biennially to the book judged to make the most significant contribution to the history of the following countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay, and Uruguay. Books appearing in the two calendar years just preceding may be considered for a given year’s award. Hence, items published in 2018 and 2019 will be considered for the award year 2020 (awarded at the meeting in January 2021).

The Socolow-Johnson Committee will consider only those items nominated by CLAH members or by publishers. Publishers must provide copies of items nominated to all committee members. Members of the prize committee may include any items they feel appropriate in the list of works considered.

Susan M. Socolow-Lyman L. Johnson Prize 2020 Committee Members

Deadline for nominations: June 01, 2020

Jody Pavilack
University of Montana

400 Parkside Lane,
Missoula MT 59802

Eduardo Elena
University of Miami

6290 SW 49th Street,
Miami, FL 33155

Julia Sarreal
Arizona State University

10 W. Linger Lane, Phoenix, AZ 85021