The Elinor Melville Prize for Latin American Environmental History

$500 is awarded annually for the best book on Latin American Environmental History published in English, French, Spanish or Portuguese.

The Melville prize was established in 2007 through a bequest from Elinor Melville. It carries a stipend of $500. The Melville prize is awarded for the best book in English, French, Spanish or Portuguese on Latin American Environmental History that is published anywhere during the imprint year previous to the year of the award. Melville defined environmental history as “the study of the mutual influences of social and natural processes.” The prize will go to the book that best fits that definition, while also considering sound scholarship, grace of style, and importance of the scholarly contribution as criteria for the award. Normally not considered for the award are reprints or re-editions of works published previously, and works not primarily historical in aim or content. More general works of environmental history with significant Latin American content may also be considered.

1. To be considered for the Melville Prize, a book must bear the imprint of the year prior to the year for which the award is made. Hence, for the 2019 Melville Prize, to be awarded in January of 2020, the Melville Prize Committee will review and judge books with imprint year 2018.

2. The CLAH Secretariat will invite publishers to nominate books for prize consideration. CLAH members, including members of the selection committee, may also nominate books. Authors (who are current members of CLAH) may nominate their own books as well. For a book to be considered, each of the three committee members must receive a copy, either from the publisher or from another source. Books received after June 1 of the award year will not be considered. The Secretariat should be informed of the committee’s decision no later than October 15, 2019.

3. Authors are advised to consult their publishers to be certain their books have been nominated and a copy sent to each member of the Review Committee.

Note: The CLAH now requires current membership for all of its prizes.

Please send all submissions to each of the committee members listed below.

Melville Prize Committee Members for 2019:

Chair: Mark Healey
University of Connecticut
Department of History
241 Glenbrook Rd.
Storrs, CT 06269-4103

Stefania Gallini (Universidad Nacional de Columbia)
Carrera 5 No. 26C-47 Apto 1507
Conjunto Torres del Parque
Bogotá, Colombia

Wilson Picado Umaña
Escuela de Historia
Universidad Nacional
Campus Omar Dengo
Heredia, Costa Rica
Avenida 1, Calle 9
Apartado Postal: 86-3000
Costa Rica

Deadline for receipt of nominations: June 1, 2019.

< Prev Next >